Brussels, 15.10.19: On 4 December 2019, the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby will host the fourth edition of the Women of Europe Awards.

It is such an honour to be actively involved with the Women of Europe Awards, whose jury I have chaired since 2017. The awards help shed a light on the successful women who are shaping our society with their achievements, passion and ideas. We should never underestimate the power and influence that women can have in bringing about positive change in politics, in economics, and in our society at large. However, our work is far from finished,” said Eva Maydell, MEP and President of the European Movement International.   

The Women of Europe Awards are awarded in four categories:

Woman in Power | showing extraordinary political leadership in Europe. 
Woman in Action | undertaking extraordinary actions at the grassroots level in Europe. 
Woman in Business | advancing European integration with an entrepreneurial spirit. 
Woman in Youth Activism | for women aged 15 to 30 strengthening the voice of young women in Europe. 


The complete list of jury members for the 2019 Women of Europe Awards: 

Eva Maydell – MEP, EPP, President of European Movement International 
Gwendoline Lefebvre – President, European Women’s Lobby
Kim van Sparrentak – MEP, European Greens
Helen McEntee – Minister for European Affairs, Department of the Taoiseach
Jennifer Baker – Freelance Journalist & EU Correspondent, Euractiv, Euronews, TheNextWeb, IAPP, BBC radio
Gloria Mills – ETUC Women’s Committee President
Veronika Pountcheva – Global Director for Corporate Responsibility & Senior Vice President METRO AG
Barbara Hendricks – Singer & Activist
Dilek Aydın – TÜSİAD Representative to the EU & BUSINESSEUROPE
Lauren Burge – Managing Director and Head of Corporate Reputation, FTI Consulting Brussels


The complete list of nominees per category for the 2019 Women of Europe Awards, presented in random order: 


Isabelle A.J. Durant – Deputy Secretary-General of UNCTAD
Mairead McGuinness – First Vice President of the European Parliament
Amélie de Montchalin – Secretary of State for European Affairs
Franziska Brantner – Member of German Parliament
Milena Angelova – Vice President of the European Economic and Social Committee
Anna Ascani – Vice President of the Italian Democratic Party
Laura Codruța Kövesi – Chief EU Public Prosecutor Elect
Tuula Haatainen – Finnish Politician
Mary Honeyball – Former British MEP
Heléne Fritzon – Swedish MEP
Marija Pejčinović Burić – Secretary-General of the Council of Europe


Anila Noor – Human Rights Activist
Katharina Wolf – Founder of the Europe Union of Saxony
Vicky Phelan – A voice for women in medical malpractice
Nora Hamadi – French Journalist
Laurence Aubron – Founder and Director of EURADIO
Gals4Gals Lodz / Lodzkie Dziewuchy Dziewuchom – Polish Feminist Collective
Véronique Desbrosses – General Manager of GESAC
Carlotta Sami – Director of Communications and Spokeswoman for Southern Europe in UNCHR
Antonella Valmorbida – Secretary-General of ALDA
Petra Laiti – Indigenous Rights Activist
Elizabeth Law – Irish Women’s Rights Activist
Teresa Freixes Sanjuan – Professor, Jean Monet Chair ad Personam
Eva Truuverk – Co-Founder of “Let’s Do it!” Movement
Milena Kadievam – Human Rights Lawyer
Alliance For Choice (AFC) – Northern Irish Feminist Collective


Lubov Popova – Vice-President of EVBB
Christine Bosse – President of European Movement Denmark
Gunilla Almgren – President of Small Business Standards (SBS)
Eleonora Azzaoui & Vera Günther – Founders of Mimycri
Helen Dixon – Data Protection Commissioner for Ireland
Marie-Béatrice Levaux – President of FEPEM
Heli Kurjanen – Founder of Lune Group LTD.
Katia Sagrafena – Co-Founder of Vetrya 


Síona Cahill – President of the Union of Students of Ireland
Greta Thunberg – Swedish Climate Change Activist
Ariane Forgues – French Activist
Kira Peter-Hansen – Danish MEP
Elitsa Hadzhieva – Advocator for the European Project
Colombe Cahen-Salvador – Co-Founder of Volt Europa
Johanna Nejedlová – Co-Founder of KONSENT

About the Women of Europe Awards
The Women of Europe Awards are handed out annually to honour and celebrate women striving to advance the European project in their professional or private capacity. In Europe, the role of women remains largely unrecognised and still needs to be supported, highlighted and increasingly recognised. As such, the awards showcase vital contributions of women and seek to increase women’s presence and involvement in shaping Europe and its future.


Press contact

Christian Skrivervik – Head of Press and Communications, European Movement International

For more information about the Women of Europe Awards 2019, please click here.